Theme:  Profitable World of Incentive Travel

President:  Ram Kohli, Creative Travels Pvt. Ltd.

Convention Chairman:  Capt. Swadesh Kumar, Shikhar Travels Pvt. Ltd.
Hall of Fame:  Introduced and given to Late Rai Bahadur MS Oberoi Shyam Poddar, Orient Express
A brief detail:
  • IATO’s influence and professionalism made a mark in the travel community through its active participation in travel seminars, overseas markting meets of the ministry, travel expositions and active interaction with other trade bodies like PATA, ITTA, FHRAI etc.
  • IATO helped the government in formulating tourism policy with practical feedbacks. It provided valuable inputs on travel related mattes to the National Committee on Tourism, especially on operation of charters which was getting the Ministry’s priority to boost international tourist arrivals in the country.
  • Under the leadership of the founder members and other trade veterans, the IATO ‘Hall of Fame Award’ was instituted for the first time, a tradition which still continues. This award was instituted in recognition of the services rendered by the awarded for the cause of Indian Tourism. The first Hall of Fame Award was given to the late Rai Bahadur MS Oberoi, doyen of the Indian hotel industry and Shyam Poddar another visionary in hospitality business who put Khajuraho on the tourist map.